Chicken Enchiladas… yum


Happy Cinco de Mayo! As I sat around trying to figure out how I could incorporate something Mexican into today’s post and tie it in with a bookstore, I remembered the enchiladas my mom used to make for us when I was a kid. See, she was a HUGE Anita Stansfield fan at the time, and Stansfield just happened to write a book, A Star in Winter, that has a recipe at the end of almost every chapter. (See where I’m going? Eh, eh?)

Children-Friendly Chicken Enchiladas

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can milk (or less)

1 c. sour cream

flour tortillas

cooked chicken, chunked

sliced black olives

shredded cheese

Additional: olives (if you like them), onions, salsa (for topping), peppers, a snappier cheese, a little chili powder, cilantro

Directions: Mix soup, milk and sour cream. Spread a little mixture on bottom of 9×13 pan. Spread some down the center of each tortilla and add chicken, olives and some cheese. Roll tortillas and place in pan. Pour remaining mixture over top of tortillas and top with cheese. Use toothpicks to hold them shut (just poke it in the top)–but REMEMBER to take them out before eating. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 min.

These are NOT spicy (hence the name “children friendly”), so if you want to spice them up, add peppers, onions, etc. They are also quite runny, so don’t overdo the liquids.

Mmmmm, just writing about them makes me remember how good they were. I think I’ll call my mom now…

Happy Cinco de Mayo.

-Lis

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

