Posted in Just Because, Kids

Arrr, Be A Pirate


Are you and the kids ready to see the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie when it comes out this week? Have you thought about dressing up for the occasion–I know I will be.

I remember when my pirate obsession started. I was in the fourth grade, and my teacher had a pirate unit for us at the end of the year. We learned all about pirate lingo (Arr, matey!), read a poem about female pirates Anne Bonny and Mary Read, and then had a pirate party at the end of the year.

Then, Disney came out with “Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl,” and I fell in love all over again. I cannot get enough of it. When I got the movie for Christmas, I must have watched it at least once every day for a week.

Look at this adorable outfit we have upstairs in Childrens.

When I got to college and took the English 2010 class, I decided to write my research paper on how our perception of pirates has been skewed by popular portrayals like “Treasure Island” and “Pirates of Penzance.” I wrote about the modern problem of piracy and how it is nothing like Jack Sparrow’s daring exploits on the big screen. I guess I could go on all day about this–my entire semester was devoted to it after all– but I think you readers may get a little tired and get up to make a ham sandwich instead. So, that’s all I will say on that subject.

I went around the store looking for pirate-type stuff, and it turns out we have a lot! I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised every time I discover something like this. Lauren W. just put together a pirate display upstairs, and I’ve got “The Everything Pirates Book” down here in General Books for any fellow pirate maniac.

Yes indeed, we have a Pin the Parrot on the Pirate game. Perfect for all your pirate parties!

I highly advise going all-out for this latest installment in the pirate film industry (Not the illegal one, the genre). It’s time to dig out the ol’ eye patch and brush up on your pirate lingo. Feel free to come in the Book Table and tell me about your costume ideas and how your pirate celebration went, because I’ll be happy to swap stories.

-Lis

Author:

We're a family-owned business in the historic downtown of Logan, Utah.

One thought on “Arrr, Be A Pirate

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

