What We’re Reading


When we aren’t working, the employees at the Book Table love to read! Here are some of the recent books that we’ve lost ourselves in.

Kourtney’s reading…

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I absolutely love the Hunger Games series! Ever since the first book came out, my family has been begging me to read it with them. I’m not much of a reader so I never was interested. But one day I decided to give it a chance, and I feel in love with the first book! So in love that I just had to keep reading. I wish that I would have started them earlier. Right now I am reading the third book in the series, Mockingjay, and so far it is great! I can’t wait to see how it all turns out, especially Katniss’s love decision. Who will she choose, Peeta or Gale? I am so Team Peeta! These books are by far my favorite series. Also, I watched the movie before I started the books and the books are way better!

Whitney’s reading…

Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner

I’m actually reading this book for an American culture class at USU. It’s about an older gentleman, Lyman, who is writing a book about his grandmother, Susan. The narration varies a little bit between Lyman’s perspective and Susan’s perspective which makes for a particularly interesting narrative. Susan was this really elitist-type woman from New York who marries a mining engineer. They don’t get married until she’s almost considered a “spinster”, but their love is very poignant. After they get married they move to California where her husband works in a multicultural mining camp. It’s really cool to hear Lyman’s commentary on Susan’s life, and also to experience the context of his life mixed with the experiences of hers. I’m only about halfway through, but I’m completely sucked in. I can’t wait to see what happens in the end!

Rebeckah’s reading…

Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

Newberry award winner Walk Two Moons is a charming story narrated by 13 year-old Sal Hiddle. Sal’s life in Kentucky is thrown completely upside down when her mother unexpectedly leaves Sal and her father. Because of this, the two move north to Ohio to be closer to family. Sal is having a hard time adjusting to her new life so her grandparents offer to drive her to Idaho to see her mom. To keep everyone entertained on the road, Sal tells stories about her new life and new friend Phoebe. As the book progresses the car travels West and Sal reveals more details about Phoebe’s story and why it reminds Sal of her own. This book is great for teaching about grief, love, death, the roles of a mother, and coming to terms with the loss of a loved one. It also stresses to the importance of the idea “don’t judge a man until you’ve walked two moons in his moccasins”, which is where the title of the books comes from. This book is great for ages 8 and up.

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

