Posted in Children's/YA Books, Kids

What We Are Reading — Fall 2015


When we aren’t working, the employees at the Book Table love to read! Here are some of the recent books that we’ve lost ourselves in.

SABRINA’S READING…

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

Displaying IMG_8050.JPGI grew up reading The Goose Girl out of my fairy tale book and making a play of it with my sisters. When I got older I decided to read the book. I am glad I did because now it is one of my favorites.

This book is about a princess and her kingdom, a betrayal of a friend, true love, and the meeting of new people. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

Kellie’s Reading…

My Story by Elizabeth Smart and Chris Stewart

Displaying IMG_8042.JPGThis book was all about Elizabeth Smart’s journey as she was kidnapped, repeatedly raped, starved, and then rescued nine months later. It was a very interesting read and it was easy for me to get into and read for hours.

I enjoyed reading this book because it helped me to appreciate what I have more and to gain a greater respect for Elizabeth Smart. She wrote a lot about her faith and religion and how it helped her through everything that happened to her. She wrote about the miracles that she saw while she was gone. I now look up to Elizabeth Smart more than before and I admire her for her solid testimony and the strong, genuine person that she is. I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about Elizabeth Smart and the things that she went through.

Heidi’s Reading…

The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth.

Displaying IMG_8041.JPGThe trilogy consists of Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, and Four, which includes five short stories from the trilogy in Tobias Eaton’s perspective. Divergent takes place in a future chicago where the citizens are separated into 5 different factions according to their personalities. This is believed to allow peace in the city. Beatrice Prior, an abnegation born and Dauntless transfer, discovers she is Divergent.

After losing loved ones, she is determined to fight against the faction system, discover secrets, and find a better way to live. Each book is filled with adventure, mysteries, romance, and secrets. I loved reading this series! I would recommend it to everyone!

 Kourtney’s READING…

The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak

Displaying IMG_5068.JPGSometimes when you are super busy and you don’t have a lot of time to read a novel, a great children’s book will do just fine.

I seriously love this book. You might think that a picture book with no pictures would be boring. You might also think that someone who wrote the adult-centric comedy of television’s The Office wouldn’t be able to hit the sweet spot with preschoolers. You would be wrong.

If you need a good quick children’s book to read that will give you a laugh, this one is perfect! This is one book you can’t read in your head though; the best way to read it is to say everything aloud. This is a book that kids will absolutely love!

Author:

We're a family-owned business in the historic downtown of Logan, Utah.

What do you think? Leave a comment here!

